The Perfect Stomach

Society’s ideal: a flat stomach and jutting hipbones. My version is grittier, with rotting flesh and deep gashes (the model was also tan before I desaturated her). I, like many others, struggle with my own concept of physical beauty and my own body ideal (I’m a mostly-recovering bulimic). I was having a particularly low self-esteem day and I guess I wanted to take a pretty torso and dirty it up. I did this in May 2005 under my old deviantart account.

[Actually, there’s more to the story, but that’s for another day.]

theperfectstomach

One thought on “The Perfect Stomach

  1. Pingback: Emotions | kissed by starlight

I'd love to hear *your* thoughts!

