Feeding Frenzy

As most of you know by now, I’m obsessed with the ducks in my neighborhood.  I don’t know what it is, but they make me happy.  The new ducklings bring me a lot of joy, although sometimes it’s mixed with sorrow since not all make it.   (is that the right term?  I don’t know whether to call them “ducklings” or “chicks,” or just “babies” like a lot of the people around here.)  Not all of the ducklings in the top photo made it, but a majority did.  I guess I have to accept that and be grateful for the ones that did.

Sorry for the blurriness in the second photo.  As usual, they had me laughing and my camera slipped.  I really need to invest in a tripod.  😉

The top photo was taken in May; the bottom in early July.  They’ve grown so much!

feedingfrenzy2_lauren

feedingfrenzy_lauren

 

 

10 thoughts on “Feeding Frenzy

  1. Beautiful! In the Spring, I always look forward to seeing the new duckling families in our neighborhood. I love to watch them grow until I can no longer tell who are the parents and who are the ducklings 🙂

    Like

    1. Lauren

      You nailed it! 🙂 I photograph them (sometimes even video, lol) as they grow and create little photo albums. There’s such a circle of life in it all, and they really do bring me peace. Except when there’s thirty of them quacking at the same time outside my window, lol. 😉

      Like

  2. LOL! Peace is when they stop traffic on a busy morning when you are headed for work, because they have to get themselves and all the babies safely to the other side of the road. There is absolutely nothing you can do about it, except stop the racket in your head, breathe, and watch how they cross in front of you…one adult in the front, babies in the middle, one adult in the back.

    …absolute tenderness 🙂

    Like

    1. Lauren

      me too, Annie, though I worry about them too. they look so fragile and yet I know most of them are strong. and they’re so damn cute I can’t take it, lol. 🙂

      Like

    1. Lauren

      I didn’t have a lot of experience with ducks growing up, except when we would go to Griggs Dam, but now I can’t imagine life without them! and I think the ducks around here have grown to trust me — at least, when they’re milling about, I can walk right through the middle and they don’t scatter, they follow me. it’s a lovely feeling. 🙂 I’ll have to check out your rescue stories for sure!

      Like

I'd love to hear *your* thoughts!

