My Take On Thanksgiving Dinner

First of all, I hope those of you who celebrate it had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  Instead of cooking, Mom and I went to Cracker Barrel and I snapped a few photos of things that interested me during our dinner.  Things other than food, although wait — there are beverages.  Does that count?

These were all taken with my cell phone.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mom has had this flannel shirt for three years and it’s become her Thanksgiving shirt.  When I see it, I immediately feel the warmth of our family and remember past Thanksgivings.

If Mom is wearing this shirt, it's Thanksgiving
If Mom is wearing this shirt, it’s Thanksgiving

Whenever we go to Cracker Barrel, I’m fascinated by the high ceilings and the vintage items that adorn the walls.  Every time I  look around like I’ve never been there before, and Mom says, “Why are you looking around like that?  You’ve seen it all before.”  Doesn’t matter.  I still find something new in the old.

Old is new to me.
Old is new to me.

I love hot chocolate.  Nothing else to say about that.  😀

yum yum yum.
yum yum yum.

Our two mugs symbolize being together for the holidays.  Mom’s poison is coffee (lots of coffee) and you already know what mine is, lol.   As you can see, I’m the lucky one here because my mug is fairly full and Mom’s is not.  😉

coffee and hot chocolate = family dinner
coffee and hot chocolate = family dinner

One thing I did right:  I had plain water in addition to the hc.

straight H2O.  Good girl, Lauren.
straight H2O. Good girl, Lauren.

Mom decided she wanted to try her hand at cell phone photography, and here is her best shot.  (LOL!!)  I find it kind of artistic and I actually like it.  I’m going to have it printed when I get my other photos developed.  But what is it?  Damned if I know.  😀

what is this?  your guess is as good as mine  ;D
your guess is as good as mine ;D

 

Finally, a brief video of my favorite place at the restaurant: the fireplace.  I could sit there and stare into the fire for ages.  The only downside was the noise drowned out the crackling of the fire.  But we can ignore that, so please, come sit with me and gaze into the fire for a few seconds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you enjoyed my version of the holiday! ~xx

9 thoughts on “My Take On Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. Finding something new in the old is I think part of being creative. Or of keeping hold of our childhood spirit. Either way, it’s an excellent thing to do. Sometimes I get too busy…. Sigh.

    My husband and I don’t often go out to franchises. When we do, my favorite dish at Cracker Barrel is the chicken and dumplings. We like to browse the wares in the store section, play with the puzzles on table, and listen to all the conversations around on around us.

    Hot chocolate is a comfort food. Marshmallows make it even better!

    Thanks for sharing an account your Thanksgiving Day. We’re getting ready for ours, having celebrated my mother-in-law’s birthday instead on Thursday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had never had chicken and dumplings until about a year ago when my Mom ordered it at CB. Now I’m hooked (especially on the dumplings, damn yummy carbs).

      One of the things I love about creative people is the way they can find something new or previously unseen/unnoticed. That is a childhood trait and I think, like you said, it’s an excellent one. I see this trait in the people I follow here on WP and it makes things so much more interesting and provocative. seeing others’ perspectives makes me re-think and re-evaluate and that leads to inspiration. I love it!!!

      I hope your Thanksgiving was warm and wonderful. 🙂 hugs!!

      Like

  2. I love Cracker Barrel! Like you, I have always been fascinated by all the vintage décor, and my favorite has always been the HUGE fireplace. Ours has a couple of rocking chairs at a checkers table right next to the fireplace…it’s where my two girls hang out while we are waiting for our food.

    Glad you got to spend this special time with your Mom…and neither of you had to cook…yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had wanted to take a photo from the vantage point of sitting in the chairs, but there were a couple kids playing so I had to settle for standing in front of it. neither of us cooking was a good thing because my success with the culinary arts is very, very shaky, lol. thank you for stopping by — so good to hear from you!!! xoxo

      Like

  3. Yep, I think the idea of the two of you spending time together at a nice cozy restaurant, partaking of coffee and hot chocolate, while your mom snapped what I’m pretty sure were naked photographs of visitors from the 17th dimension (a very rare occurrence), was just about as ideal a Thanksgiving Day outing as I can ever remember being witness to. Truly, it was…well…radical, thanks for having me. Read you again later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. you have such a good eye — I thought they were the visitors from the 16th dimension that dropped me off at my mother’s when I was an egg, lol. I have to tell you, you have such a creative mind it’s a pleasure to read what comes next. 🙂 thank you for joining me!! xx

      Like

I'd love to hear *your* thoughts!

