Mom’s Painful Start to the New Year

I’m sorry that I haven’t responded to comments, etc.  I had to take Mom to the ER on Wednesday because her back had gotten so bad she could barely move.  Turns out she has “significant arthritis,” sciatica, something wrong with “a couple disks” that I can’t remember what they called it and she had burst a cyst; the pain of the latter  is what finally got her to stop being stubborn and let me take her somewhere.  I kept begging but she waited until she couldn’t walk without screaming before she let me step in and get her to the ER for help.

Anyway, she’s tired, I’m tired, Sam and Lucy are whacked out because everyone’s routine has been interrupted … And seeing Mom in the hospital bed looking so pale and fragile is sticking with me.  When they were doing the X-Rays and the MRI, I was almost floating above my body from the strength of the stress; I had to keep flicking my wrist with a rubber band to keep myself present.  I might be an adult in chronological years, but I don’t know how to handle things like an adult would.  All of this has made me think about what I’m going to do as Mom ages and more responsibility is put on me.  That’s actually the cheerful thought, because when I continue the scenario it takes me to Mom’s dea** and I refuse to go down that road of thought.  If I even think it, something bad could — and probably will — happen.

Word to the wise, 2015:  You’d better straighten up fast.  A mother in agony, and a frightened Lauren, is not a good way to start the new year.

16 thoughts on “Mom’s Painful Start to the New Year

  1. I am sorry to hear about your mother’s health problems, and I hope she gets better. I can relate to the anxiety and worry you are going through. I take care of my elderly father, and I ended up taking him to the ER a few times over the past few years. I hope you can stay strong for yourself and your mom.

    Before I go, I would like to thank you for liking “Happy New Year.” You might be off to a rough start in 2015, but hopefully the rest of the year will be better.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome. I agree. I already lost my mom. It is not easy for me to take care of my dad, but I think about all that he has done for me. I want to help him now that he really needs my help.

        Thanks for the New Year greeting. I hope things will get better for both you and your mom. 🙂

        Like

  2. Oh dear! I hope your mom is doing better. I understand how you feel about your mom’s health. I myself cannot put the “D” word and my mom in the same room…let alone in the same sentence” She will live forever” is all I can handle…as juvenile as that may seem.

    Hang in there, and don’t forget to take care of yourself too.

    …may the New Year just get better 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You take care of your mom, and you take care of yourself, and we’ll be here when you’re ready, once your mom is comfortable and you’ve had a chance to get some rest. You and your mom are in my prayers, and I’ll read you later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much!!! Progress is slow, but it’s happening. it’s so hard to see her suffering, but I think this probably gives me a good idea of how she feels watching me suffer and not being able to help. ♥

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I understand your feelings, and doubts, and fears.
    I’ve been (and still am) in a similar situation, my mother spent last year in incredible pain, she ultimately went through three surgeries within a month, and she’s still dealing with the post-op’s – after three months, she still has open surgical wounds.
    It’s hard to handle this kind of situation, it would be hard for anybody and it’s harder for people like us, who have their own psychological/psychiatric problems to deal with.
    I don’t know the details of your relationship with your mother; mine is pretty bad, and most of the times I couldn’t handle the stress of being with her, and I ran away. I spent most of the summer out of home, and I know it wasn’t the best thing to do for her, but it was the best thing for me – I don’t know if this makes any sense from an outside perspective.
    You are brave, though. You may not feel ‘adult enough’ to deal with such problems, but you’re incredibly brave, and this is great 🙂
    Hold on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much for sharing your own story and perspective — it helps to hear from someone else who understands. My mom and I have a fairly good relationship but it can be tempestuous and it’s hard for me NOT to run sometimes. I’m so proud of you for doing what was right for YOU. it’s hard to take care of ourselves and sometimes the best thing is to get away. you really helped and validated what I was feeling and I appreciate that more than I can say. thank you!!!!! ♥ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear *your* thoughts!

