Avoidance Isn’t Always A Bad Thing {+ Fonts!}

Heidi-ho, neighbor!  (If anyone remembers what show that’s from, I would be shocked. :))

I’m purposely avoiding any hurtful topics today, because I’m feeling the need to binge and I don’t want to do anything to trigger myself more.  I checked my blood glucose level last night because I wasn’t feeling well, and it was so high my meter couldn’t give me a reading (which means it was above 600).  My mom nearly went into hysterics and wanted to take me to the ER, which would technically be the right thing to do, but I convinced her I didn’t need to go and I took some more insulin.  But I have to admit when my meter flashed “EXTREME HIGH GLUCOSE” twice, then told me that meant my blood sugar was over 600, inwardly my first thought was there’s just too much going on, I can’t take it, my eating disorder is winning this war and I should just kill myself because I’m going to die anyway so why draw it out?  Instead I took a Klonopin, took a deep breath and then went to bed.  I know I need to deal with this but … not today.  I woke up determined to just chill.

So I decided that meant today I’d do something I love which is finding new (to me) fonts.  I’ve loved fonts since I was a kid.  I used to design a*d*u*l*t websites for girlfriends of mine who worked in the telephone industry (ahem) and one of my favorite things was deciding which font to use for what page based on their theme.  I haven’t done any designing in a long time —  we’re talking back in 2005, 2006.  I used a program to do the basic website and then I did the CSS coding and graphics myself.  Anyway, playing with fonts was the best part of the whole thing.  When I’m searching for new fonts I lose track of time and that was a very good thing today.

I thought tonight I would share a few of my favorite (and free) fonts.  I can’t be the only one out there who loves this four-letter word.  Right?  (Please say I’m right. :))  If anyone has a favorite font I’d love to hear about it!  I’m always on the prowl for new ones, lol.  I feel so nerdy but it really makes me happy; gleeful; almost euphoric, actually.  (Which reminds me, this is posted in a new category I’ve created called “bliss.”  Hopefully I’ll be posting in this category often to help me focus on the things that bring me delight.)

To all the east coasters, I hope you’re safe and warm!!  love to you all,
Lauren

photo by moi
photo by moi / quote from “Seinfeld”

Serenity {Thirsty Script Extra Bold}  ♥||♥  Insanity {Le Havre Layers}

"Enjoy the Silence" by Depeche Mode
“Enjoy the Silence” by Depeche Mode

Words Like Violence {Ribbon Happy}  ♥||♥  Break the Silence {Volstead}
Come Crashing In {VTKS Encount(e)r}  ♥||♥  Into My Little World {MF Fool for Love}

10 thoughts on “Avoidance Isn’t Always A Bad Thing {+ Fonts!}

  1. the ‘heidy-ho neighbor’ was Wilson (whose face you never saw over the fence) on the show Home Improvement starring Tim Allen.

    as for fonts, sorry…can’t help there. but i do hope you enjoyed playing around with them and are feeling better now, blood sugar too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Only one comment and they beat me to the mystery quote. 😦 Oh well, I loved the fonts, and my two favorites (nothing too exciting here) have always been “Arial” and “Verdana”. 🙂

    Like

  3. May Desert Flower

    Today is a good day to chill … and if you feel any frustration poor it out in writing 😉
    As for fonts, I’m afraid I’m rather dull in that area…tend to stick to century gothic or similar nowadays :p

    Like

  4. I love fonts of all sorts. It’s great to know that someone else loves the search for new fonts as well! I have a lot of favorites, standbys such as Times New Roman, Verdana, Bookman Old Style, Freestyle Script etc., etc. The ones I don’t care for are the symbol ones. Don’t like those. I think they are dumb. I don’t mind the heart ones or the flower ones, though.
    Take care of your numbers. And take care of you. : )

    Like

  5. Fonts are great!. I am glad you found some new ones. I am looking forward to more posts in your Bliss category. Hope your day was great and your levels are more stabilized. In love & light Cheryle

    Like

  6. Hi Lauren, I’ve been away from the blogosphere, off and on, for months now — but saved the notification of this post in my emails so I’d remember to get over here to comment when I had time.

    I LOVE fonts too! I’ve had too much fun exploring them over the years, and have a spreadsheet of fonts, sources, examples, etc that I refer to whenever I’m feeling the need to create a graphic-something-or-other. 🙂 I’ll be adding those you’ve listed above to it, I’m sure!

    A few of my favorites are those based on Buffy (http://www.fontspace.com/gemfonts/buffied and http://www.fontspace.com/gemfonts/rebuffed) and almost any handwritten type (http://www.dafont.com/daniel.font and http://www.joebob.nl/free-fonts are examples).

    I also explored Rune fonts — I especially love RUNEnglish (http://www.fontspace.com/dan-smiths-fantasy-fonts/ds-runenglish-2).

    (Yikes, with all these links, I hope this comment doesn’t get lost in spam-ville!)

    Your Depeche Mode graphic is perfect. Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

I'd love to hear *your* thoughts!

